Graduate Students

Samantha Agarwal (2015), sagarw32@jhu.edu
B.A.,Ohio State University, 2010.
Interests: social injustice, globalization, financial inequality, land grabs and politics of dispossession

Rishi Awatramani
(2014), rawatra1@jhu.edu
B.A., Vassar College, 2002.
Interests:
global political economy, labor and social movements in the US and India, historic and contemporary capitalism, national liberation
Article in the Socialist Register journal: http://socialistregister.com/index.php/srv#.VEwgECLF9zM

Alvin Camba (2015), acamba1@jhu.edu
M.A., Binghamton University, 2015; M.A., University College London, 2012; M.A., University of Tartu, 2012; B.A. University of the Philippines, 2009.
Interests: global political economy, environmental history, political sociology, capitalism & global China in Southeast Asia.
Personal Website

Valentina Dallona (2013), vdallon1@jhu.edu
M.A., University College London, 2011. B.A., University of Padua, 2009
Interests: land tenure clarification and land-grabbing, law and capital, agrarian communities
Office Hours (230.325): Thursday, 4:00-5:00-Mergenthaler 563

Yige Dong (2011), ydong6@jhu.edu
M.A., University of Chicago, 2009. B.A., University of Hong Kong, 2007.
Interests: socialist experiences, international development, welfare institutions and gender

Stephanie D’Souza (2013), sdsouza5@jhu.edu
B.A., University of Maryland College Park, 2005.
Interests: inequality in the education system & labor market, transition to adulthood low income youth in the US

Zhicao Fang (2014), zfang8@jhu.edu
M.A., University of Chicago, 2012. B.A., Sun Yat-Sen University, 2011.
Interests:Political and comparative-historical sociology, global political economy, state-society relations in China
Office Hours (230.101): Monday, 4:00-6:00-BLC Daily Grind Cafe

Robert Francis (2014), rfranc15@jhu.edu
M.A., University of Chicago, 2006. B.A., Wheaton College (IL), 1999.
Interests:
poverty, social policy, rural communities, religion, nonprofit organizations

Phil Garboden (2011), pgarbod1@jhu.edu
M.P.P., Johns Hopkins University, 2011. B.A., Swarthmore College, 2002.
Interests: social inequality, housing, neighborhoods, race, ethnicity, class.
Personal Website

Lingli Huang (2008), lhuang23@jhu.edu
B.A. China University of Political Science and Law, 2002.
Interests: migration and urbanization, labor studies, social inequality and class, historical and comparative development studies

Ricado Jacobs (2012), rjacob21@jhu.edu
B.A. University of the Western Cape – South Africa, 1994.
Interests: world historical capitalism, labor studies, social movements
Office Hours (230.150): Thursday, 11:00-12:00-Macaulay 102

Christine Jang (2015), cjang4@jhu.edu
M.A. Columbia University, 2015; M.A. Indiana University Bloomington, 2012; B.A. Indiana University Bloomington, 2007. Interests: urban sociology, education, housing, racial and ethnic inequality

Minhyoung Kang (2012), mkang25@jhu.edu
M.A., Seoul National University, 2007. B.A., Seoul National University, 2004.
Interests: globalization, inequality, labor movements

Holly Koogler (2013), hhowell2@jhu.edu
M.A., Stanford University, 2009. B.A., Emory University, 2007.
Interests: immigrant students and their role in achievement as defined by school completion and standardized test scores

Sefika Kumral (2006), skumral@jhu.edu
B.A., KOC University, 2006.
Interests:labor and social movements, comparative historical sociology, facism, right wing movements.

Julie Lee (2005), jukim@jhu.edu
B.A., Rutgers University- Rutgers College, 2005.
Interests: immigration, health disparities, segregation, poverty, transition to adulthood, urban sociology, social policy.

Guowei Liang (2013), gliang4@jhu.edu
M.A., Sun Yat-Sen University, 2012. B.A. Taiyuan University of Technology, 2009
Interests: labor movement in China
Office Hours (230.147): Monday, 10:00-12:00-BLC Daily Grind Cafe

Anne-Marie Livingstone (2010), aliving6@jhu.edu
M.A., McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, 1998.
Interests: race, inequality, poverty, social policy and the state
Office Hours (230.101): Monday, 1:00-2:00-Mergenthaler 555

Shirley Lung (2015), slung1@jhu.edu
M.A., Georgetown University, 2012; B.A. Duke University, 2010.
Interests: race, ethnicity, immigration, education, social stratification.

Charlie Mitchell (2011), cmitch53@jhu.edu
B.A., Trinity University, 2011.
Interests:
education, racial and socioeconomic achievement gaps, political and social justice

Ryan Nielsen (2012), rnielse1@jhu.edu
BA, Illinois Wesleyan University, 2012.
Interests: labor, informal labor, India, development
Office Hours (230.150): Tuesday, 10:30-11:30, or by appointment-Mergenthaler 520

Anna Rhodes (2010), arhodes6@jhu.edu
B.A., Boston College, 2010.
Interests: sociology of education, social stratification, sociology of race and ethnicity.
Office Hours (230.152): Thursday, 4:15-5:30-Abel Wolman

Elizabeth Talbert (2011), etalber2@jhu.edu
M.P.P, University of Michigan, 2011. M.S., Pace University, 2007. B.A., Yale University, 2005.
Interests: gender, social inequality, education.

Daniel Thompson (2011), dthomps@jhu.edu
B.A., Purdue University, 2008.
Interests: comparative political economy, global inequality, historical materialism, panel data analysis, comparative-historical methods.
Office Hours (230.202)Thursday, 10:00-12:00-Mergenthaler 537
Personal Website

Smriti Upadhyay (2011), supadhy5@jhu.edu
M.A., University of Warwick, UK, 2009. B.A., McGill University, Canada, 2008
Interests: Labor and social movements, development, India

Han (John) Woo (2009), hwoo4@jhu.edu
B.A., University of Chicago, 1995.
Interests: sociology of mental health, aging and life course, stratification and inequality, education, demography, health and behavior
Office Hours (230.101): Friday, 4:00-5:00-MSEL (Rm C50)

Allison Young (2014), ayoung 84@jhu.edu
B.A. University of Chicago, 2011.
Interests: s
ocial inequality, poverty, family, education, housing

Xiao Yu (2013), xyu26@jhu.edu
M.A., Pennsylvania State University, 2013. B.A., Peking University, 2011
Interests:
internal and international migration, social stratification

Nazish Zafar (2008), nazish@jhu.edu
B.A. Carleton College, 2007.
Interests: survival and growth of small businesses in relation to external conditions such as government policies, social mobility and urban development, child welfare institutions

Visiting Graduate Students

Dafna Gelbgiser, dg432@cornell.edu
Visiting JHU  – Jan 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016
Cornell University
Interests: Sociology, Social Stratification, Higher Education, Quantitative Research Methods, Gender inequality, Race/Ethnic stratification and inequality, Sociology of Education and Organizational Behavior.

Liu, Hao, liuhao2013@pku.edu.cnliuhao2013@pku.edu.cn
Visiting JHU  – Sept 1, 2015 – Aug 31, 2016
Beijing University
Interests: Sociology of Education, Education & Stratification, Social Inequality, Immigration & Social Mobility